Michael Whelan’s beautifully creepy illustration for a mid-80s Lovecraft collection.

Horror fans know H.P. Lovecraft as the father of “cosmic horror” and the man who invented Cthulhu, Azathoth, Nyarlathotep, and host of other legendary monsters known as the Great Old Ones. His body of work also inspired its own genre of horror fiction—the Lovecraftian Mythos.

I’ve been pleased to have stories in such Lovecraftian anthologies as CTHULHU’S REIGN and THE BOOK OF CTHULHU II. Now PS Publishing (the publisher that brought us BLACK WINGS I & II) has assembled an impressive new anthology under the editorship of the great Darrell Schweitzer.

THAT IS NOT DEAD features all-new tales of cosmic horror set in various periods of history. You might call it “Historical Lovecraft.” The title comes from one of Lovecraft’s most famous lines: “That is not dead which can eternal lie, yet with stranger eons, even death may die.”


Azathoth, as rendered by CRODEART

Here’s what Schweitzer has to say about the concept:

“THAT IS NOT DEAD is a collection of Mythos stories, based on the premise that if the Old Ones have been around since elder aeons, someone should have noticed before Lovecraft’s characters did about 1900. The theme then is lurking presences. Inasmuch as the stories deal with history, it is secret history, i.e. “what really happened…”

I wrote a story called “Anno Domini Azathoth” for the book, and I’m humbled to be in the company of so many fine writers. My tale is set in the wild Arizona Territory in the late 1700s. It involves an obscure Amerindian cult of Azathoth worshipers, and the missionary priest who discovers their horrible secret.

It also purports to tell the “real story” behind the all-too-real massacre of two Spanish missions in 1781. Like most of these tales, it peels back the layers of known history to reveal the mind-blasting horrors that lie beneath.

Here is the final Table of Contents:

“Herald of Chaos” by Keith Taylor.
“What A Girl Needs” by Esther Friesner
“The Horn of the World’s Ending” by John Langan 
“Monsters in the Mountains at the Edge of the World” by Jay Lake
“Come, Follow Me” by Darrell Schweitzer 
“Ophiuchus” by Don Webb 
“Of Queens and Pawns” by Lois Gresh 
“Smoking Mirror” by Will Murray 
“Incident at Ferney” by S.T. Joshi 
“Anno Domini Azathoth” by John R. Fultz 
“Slowness” by Don Webb 
“The Salamanca Encounter” by Richard Lupoff 
“Old Time Entombed” by W.H. Pugmire 
“Nine Drowned Churches” by Harry Turtledove.

Darrell Schweitzer revealed that the 14 stories appear in chronological order, beginning in the 2nd millennium BC and going up to the end of the 19th century, and the Turtledove piece ” takes place in the present but looks back on events in medieval times.”

THAT IS NOT DEAD is set for release toward the end of this year. I’ll be sure to announce it right here when it arrives.